Trossachs Parish Church

National Grid Reference (NGR): NN 51510 06650, map


Loch Achray, Callander


Trossachs Parish Church

Construction materials: Stone (rubble, bound) - Used for walls; Slate - Used for roof;

Trossachs Church lies 2km west of the hamlet of Brig O' Turk. It was built in 1849 by G. P. Kennedy in rubble with a slate roof. It is situated on a picturesque knoll overlooking Loch Achray. The church is aligned east-west and it has a bellcote on the east gable and a gabled porch in the centre of the south wall. The slate roof is designed in a fish-scale manner, which stripe the roof diagonally. The side walls have three pointed arch windows and the gables have a set of three narrow pointed arch stained glass windows. The east window features glass by A. Ballantine and Gardiner (The Good Samaritan). The walls are buttressed. The open bellcote that has a bell 28 inches in diameter. It was cast by Charles and George Mears of the Whitechapel Foundry. It is operated by a chain and chord that runs down the outside wall. The interior was re-designed in 1894 and re-orientated from west to east. The church is surrounded by a small graveyard, retained by a low rubble wall. J. Dowling, 25/11/04 and 12/1/05.




Stained Glass





  • Church: Build/construction (1849)
    People: G.p. Kennedy